Governance Structure

The management structure of the JPI MYBL consist of the following distinguished JPI bodies:

  • General Assembly
  • Steering Committee

The General Assembly is the main decision making body of the JPI and is responsible for the overall coordination, supervision, implementation and progress of the JPI. The GA ensures the political backing of the initiatives from MS/AS. GA members are requested to coordinate with relevant stakeholders in their countries. The GA ensures the visibility of the JPI and takes also the broadness of the JPI topic into account. The Membership in the General Assembly is equal to the membership within the JPI. The GA members must have a Governmental mandate. The decision making rule within the General Assembly is “one country – one vote” and this requires that the MS, AS or Third Country delegation nominate a single voting person.The GA is responsible for decision-taking and identifies:

  • public research instruments (regional, national and/or European) suitable to realize the objectives
  • priorities for joint initiatives that will have valuated impact at the European Union level, taking into account pre-existing national and EU activities.

The GA decides on JPI activities and their implementation, corrective measures, etc.. and will

  • develop strategies for international cooperation and coordination
  • define joint transnational initiatives, based on the defined priorities for joint initiatives
  • define rules of participation
  • invite Member and Associated States to participate in the implementation of joint transnational initiatives (including prior commitment on financing, premised that participation in specific initiatives is voluntarily and follows the principle of variable geometry)
  • facilitate the development of new instruments, where necessary.
  • implement an overarching concept for the dissemination and communication of results from JPI
  • report on the progress of the JPI to the GPC and interact with other European initiatives and programs (e.g. EIP-AHA, ERA-NET AGE, AAL Joint Programme) or other political bodies of the European Commission and the Council of the European Union.

The General Assembly is a rather large body. In order to deal with more frequent management tasks the General Assembly has set up a Steering Committee for implementation and decision making.

The Steering Committee is composed of GA Chair Edvard Beem (The Netherlands),  Tove Hammerberg (Sweden), François Héran (France) and Yves Joanette (Canada).



In February 2016 dr. Edvard Beem has been elected as chair of the General Assembly of JPIMYBL. He takes over the role of Prof. Paolo Rossini, who has been the chair of the General Assembly since January 2014.

Edvard Beem, is co-director of the Netherlands Organisation of Health Research and Development (ZonMw), holding the present position since the merger of the former organisations ZON (health care innovation) and MW (medical research) in 2001. In his co-directorship of ZonMw since 2001 he holds specific items as research strategy, public-private co-operation and international relations in his portfolio. Edvard is trained as a biochemist, most of his scientific work was performed at the Netherlands Cancer Institute in Amsterdam.

Regarding international relations, he himself is member of the steering committee and member of the Management Board of JPND, elected vice-chair of the Board of Governors of EATRIS, elected chair of the Assembly of Members of BBMRI and vice-chair of the ESFRI Strategic Working Group Health and Food. Other staff of ZonMw hold positions in other health related Joint Programming Initiatives and Research Infrastructures.


Tove Hammarberg

Tove Hammarberg is International Relations Coordinator & Program Director at Forte, the Swedish research council for health, working life and welfare. Besides her engagement in the JPI More Years Better Lives she is involved in the NORFACE network and in the board of the Swedish Secretariat for Environmental Earth System Sciences (SSEESS). She is also the coordinator of Forte´s ongoing collaboration with the South African Medical Research Council. Tove Hammarberg is International Relations Coordinator & Program Director at Forte, the Swedish research council for health, working life and welfare. She is part of the Swedish team in the H2020 Programme Committee for SC6.



Yves Joanette is Professor of Cognitive Neurosciences and Aging at the Faculty of Medicine of Université de Montréal. He is currently the Scientific Director of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research Institute of Aging (CIHR-IA). He is also the scientific lead of the CIHR Dementia Research Strategy and acts as co-lead of other initiatives on eHealth, Healthy and Productive Work, and the CIHR Canadian Longitudinal Study on Aging. He sits on many international advisory and management boards, including the EU Joint Programme- Neurodegenerative Disease Research (JPND), and other European initiatives in which Canada participates. He is a member of the World Dementia Council and has been Scholar and Scientist of the Canadian Medical Research Council. He has received many honourable distinctions, including the André-Dupont Award, and the Eve-Kassier Award for exceptional professional accomplishment. Yves Joanette is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. In 2007, he was presented an Honorary Doctorate from the Université Lumière de Lyon (France).